Sorry, this event is no longer for sale.

Ballintotis 4 2024

Permit has been approved, 24/22

The 13th running of the Ballintotis 4 mile road race will take place this year on Thursday April 18th (starting time 8pm.)


Event Description:

The 13th running of the  Ballintotis 4 mile road race, hosted by Ballintotis Area Community Council and held in association with East Cork AC, will take place this year on Thursday April 18th  (starting time 8pm.)   

In 2010, the first staging of the race took place and attracted 425 runners, a figure which at that time well exceeded the organisers' expectations.  Our 10th anniversary race in 2019 saw a record breaking 1240 finishers.

The event formerly took place in Castlemartyr, but East Cork AC moved the race to Ballintotis, which has proved a hugely popular location, with the venue boasting in excess of 1,000 participants on a number of occasions. The scenic 4 mile loop includes a lap of road bordering Loughaderra Lake in the closing stages. 

Again this year's race offers great value for money with a very attractive prize structure overall and a full list of category prizes in all age groups (1st 2nd and 3rd) as well as the opportunity to win one of the many spot prizes on offer. As always all participants will receive the famous Ballintotis running Buff.


Registration is open on line from February 1st and is limited to participants over 15 years of age.


Registration costs 15 euro  including service charge, with the option of  availing of your race number being posted out for an additional cost.             .

Please enter   on   


In the inaugural race 12 years ago James McCarthy took top spot with a time of 19:54. McCarthy went onto win the race a remarkable eight times in a row, his best time being 19:23 set in 2016. Then in 2018 ... a new man was on the podium as another East Cork A.C competitor Michael Harty won in style and in the process set a new course record of 19:15, with the previous record also being broken by Sergiu Ciobanu who was runner up. Our 2019  race saw a new name on the roll of honour - as yet another East Cork Man - Kevin O'Brien broke the tape in a time of 20.13.

The entry was a remarkable 1,170 runners in 2015.  Irish Olympian Sonia O Sullivan was among those taking part  that year following up on her previous visit in 2013.  

Fellow Olympian Lizzy Lee from Leevale is the ladies course record holder (21:22), with her Irish International colleague Claire McCarthy posting the second fastest time around the course.   Fiona Santry of East Cork A.C made it back to wins in the ladies race in 2019 to complete a fine double.

Then last year Leevale man Ryan Creech produced a superb front running performance and went on to cross the line in a time of 19:11 to knock four seconds off of Michael Harty's previous best set in 2018.

Jake O'Regan from St John's in Clare took second in 19:32 with Kilkenny-man Ger Forde winning a great battle for third ahead of Tim O'Donoghue (East Cork) and Niall Shanahan (An Bru).

Lizzy Lee continued her rich vein of form when winning the ladies race in 2023. 

Anybody requiring further information on this year's race can e-mail their query to or call 086 8778182.